Dutchess

Knitting, pattern design

My 1st post in my new blog! March 2, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — burninhelen @ 4:29 pm

Knitting for Boozehags has taken a powder, and has risen into Domestic Dutchess- I wanted JUST Dutchess but apparently there is another WP blog already with MY name! Dang it. So I think that my blog will be Domestic Dutchess (until I get sick of that name too) but maybe can still incorporate the Dutchess.

If I had blogmates, like my new Ravelry pal lapblaydes, we would call it Ho’s Makin’ Clothes! (Yo.)

So anyways, eventually I will re-work this blog and have it all pimped out and plumped up. But for now, I just need to have a place that didn’t get hacked and hijacked, where YOU my lost readers, can view everything rather than relying on cached pages from a blog long gone.

Yey! So what to expect this time around?

  • Patterns, duh! Old and new.
  • Good links- I’m collecting a bunch for my own selfish purposes but will share anyways.
  • My buddies blogs! Yeaaah BUDDIES!
  • More procrastination! As usual, entries will be sporadic at best. I predict I start off strong and then once the novelty wears off, maybe once a week..
  • More procrastination! I will eventually go thru the old patterns and upload into pdf files for y’all, but I’m working on 3 patterns right now, soooooo. yeah.
  • If I can ever figure things out, maybe some video how to’s.
  • As always, my sparkling, light, bright and cheery … uhhhh. Make that just.. ME.
  • I’m hoping that I can post a bunch of stuff about my processes- right and wrong, good and bad so that my readers know that nothing is perfect and we all have stuff to learn and knowledge to share.

And that’s it for now.

Where have I been? I played roller derby, scratch that- I did that and ALSO ran my league and still do the QSR’s for WFTDA. I really had zero time for knitting. I’m coming to the end of my career! (That’s a GOOD thing though!). I’ve started my pre-req’s for nursing school, I am taking this semester off due to financial aid snafu’s/red tape-

I’m in a major “trying to re-organize and prioritize” my life. My girls are older, Anthony and I are getting divorced- Another GOOD thing- we are still the bestest of friends. He got paralyzed a couple of years ago- NOT a GOOD thing. This also contributed to my hiatus as well as the re-organizing of life stuff. My 1st love came back, he almost died too! I’ve really been through the ringer! So many terrible things, completely out of my control. I don’t care so much about myself in the sense that I am strong and can deal, but I will always regret that my oldest daughter Helena has been affected with all of this health crises. My youngest was little enough to come out un-scathed, and for that I am thankful.

It just sucks to have a vision of what you thought life was going to be and then have it completely de-railed.. and it’s no one’s fault, it is just life. We got the fuzzy end of the lollipop.

That all being said- this is just what happened, and I feel I owe some sort of explanation. It’s not out here for you to feel badly or sadly for me. I’m okay! Not terrific, but okay, and getting better. I won’t lie and say that it hasn’t had it’s effects, but the only thing you can look to is the future and focus your energy on making it through everything. A lot of people comment that they don’t know how I got through it, but it’s really different when you are in it. You have no choice but to make it through. Anthony is doing as well as one can. He even bought a Mustang. He had an aortic dissection and we strongly feel the paralyzation came from the after care, but we can’t prove it, even though he got pressure sores because they weren’t moving him. They almost had to amputate his LEG because the nurses were not turning him like they were supposed to! (Hello, I’m going to be a nurse! But a good one.)

Jonny, my high school sweetheart- he got pancreatitis, was in a coma and given a zero chance. He’s doing great now! He also can never drink again. So now you see the whole boozehags thing, which was funny and tongue in cheek, isn’t the most appropriate choice now! Plus I’m going to be 37! WHAAAT!? Awwwww hells.

So there’s the rub. The first and most likely last mention of all things tragic and sad and soul crushing. Those who know me, know how hard it is for me to really talk about these things and how I would rather just concentrate on what lies ahead. Better, brighter days!

 

Leave a Reply

