Dutchess

Knitting, pattern design

So what? I (hypothetically) do what I want! March 4, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — burninhelen @ 4:35 am

I’m probably not ashamed to discuss my initial tragedies. I may have been SO excited to knit my own stuff, it’s possible I couldn’t wait for time consuming swatches, using semi-proportionate needle/yarn ratios, and things of such nature. In a sense, I do kind of miss it- I did actually make a lot of it work-

The thing is, if I am knitting for me, I don’t care what I do or did or how I did it. I lived on the EDGE, man. Danger abound! Problem is when people want to make that stuff you are flattered and aim to please, but then reality sinks in that you really need to learn the basics and be able to express it in a written form. It’s not as easy as reciting off a recipe where you can add a “dash” of something- it has to be more precise or the outcome is a village of torch wielding furies, just kidding, the outcome is that you wasted a bunch of their time and money and let them down. Some of you can gasp at my errr, I mean that person’s moronic gall- others can totally sympathize, but hopefully it’s entertaining, especially if it really may have happened.

Ten things I may have done. (Hypothetical Me, naturally darlings.)

  1. Buy at least 1-2 skeins less than you actually need
  2. Search for size 6 circulars, find 7’s and say “whatever, I do what I want!”
  3. DON’T bother doing a tiresome swatch, live dangerously and WING it.
  4. Know the entire time that you really needed a swatch, but say “whatever, I do what I want!”
  5. Don’t chart out anything, so you can realize later, say about 24 rows too late, that you needed more/less shaping.
  6. Forgo the lifeline because so what who cares, you do what you want and live dangerously. Pffft, I’ll catch any mistake by the next row!
  7. Use yarn that is unpleasant to work with, in this case grey dk weight cotton that literally falls apart. You knew it seemed shady, but it FELT good, and LOOKED good in the skein. Maybe that’s why it was in the clearance bin?
  8. Knit about 6 inches and realize because you didn’t swatch, it’s too big (although it wouldn’t have been if you could have just waited untill you found the 6’s)
  9. After all the above, realize that you hate the yarn and it was totally wrong for the idea anyways. You should have just gone out and bought different yarn, but you really really wanted to use that crap up. (I have yarn from the 60’s… 70’s, 80’s… some of it is ewwww but I am determined to make something VERY cool out of something so VERY WRONG looking, so what? I do what I want!)
  10. When you figure out the piece has too much uh, girth to it, show your significant other so he can sigh and tsk at you, then listen to him try and talk you out of frogging it because it’s ludicrous to spend so much time on something to rip it all out. He thinks potato sacks look fantastic on you, and that’s great- but….

That all being said and done- I will continue to publicly humiliate myself, and share my growth, knowledge and the what nots have you nots, so that maybe some other hypothetically like the hypothetical me can avoid my wrong turns.

I keep thinking that I really wish I had a source that taught me what I wanted to know but was afraid to ask, to teach me things I had no idea I should know, and to highlight the way. I mean there ARE tons of resources, but all in a zillion places. I don’t know of any other blogs that have step by step garment design- if you know of any SHARE! I am going to write a blog about what I want in a blog, and hey it’s MY (hypothetical-ish) blog so who cares! I do what I want!

Goodnight my babies.

 

One Response to “So what? I (hypothetically) do what I want!”

  1. SylvChezPlum Says:

    Hey christine, I’m so glad to see you have a new blog !! 😀 Makes my day. I’ll be reading every single post to catch up 😛

    And yep, I guess that’s the reason we start designing our own things in the first place, can’t be bothered to swatch or follow directions … With the downside that I only very recently started making things that I actually wear. Essentially crocheted items btw,.. maybe due to the fact that shaping and changing gears in the middle of a project is so much easier with crochet 😉


Leave a Reply

