Dutchess

Knitting, pattern design

Knitting Needles, freedom of choice! March 11, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — burninhelen @ 10:12 am

Do you love D-E-V-O? I do. Of course entirely unrelated.

When I was first taught to knit, I inherited my mom’s and my grandmother’s collection if needles. Yes, I do realize how lucky that was and I am glad I didn’t have to go and buy each of them separately.

I feel that in this world, the majority of people choose Bamboo’s. I greatly dislike them for a few reasons.

  • The tips DULL.
  • Sometimes they snag the yarn
  • Ummm, have you ever sat on a smaller gauge and broken it?
  • They WARP! (and NOT from being wet, I have no idea how this happens but usually on the smaller sizes)
  • I don’t want to have to WAX my needles, too much maintenance!

Call me old fashioned, but my favorites are aluminum. I have heard of some people being allergic to them, and others getting a funny smell from the metal on their hands. I pretty much exclusively knit with them and that’s never happened to me-

I have old Susan Bates, Brittany’s (who made  strong wood needles!) and Boye’s, and a bunch of mystery ones whom I have no idea who the manufacturer was on them.

Some of the various needles all mishmashed together

My grandmother's are still my favorites

And yes, that’s me in my pajamas. Doing anything that prevents me from finishing this stupid sweater.

Vintage Needle Love aside, in this modern day and age I really like Addi’s. But, alas they are so expensive- the cable is so nice on the circs though.

However! I recently just purchased Knit Picks nickel plated interchangeable needle set. The cable is very similar to the addi’s, but I actually prefer the KP’s to the addis because the point is better.

I think they have a great bargain with needles, and as far as I can tell so far, the metal ones are actually very good quality!

 

One Response to “Knitting Needles, freedom of choice!”

  1. Rilana Says:

    I prefer aluminum needles myself. We are in the minority it seems. Oh well. Happy Knitting! 🙂


Leave a Reply

